A Rainy Day

This morning I told you all about my adventures of yesterday. I was able to spend time writing because is was rainy practically the whole morning. Annie went to a meeting and I decided to do the chores all by myself. Everything went well. I guess I could be a pretty sufficient farmer if I wanted to be. Persa came by again today, and she brought a 6′ 2” wide tire that will be the base for the tower of the new privy.

I made falafal, a traditional Israeli dish made from chickpeas and traditionally eaten with pita and tahini. Since we didn’t have pita or tahini we made a lemon-mint yogurt sauce and used some tortilla wraps. Everyone agreed that this meal was a hit and Annie is now wanting it at least one a week. I also gathered some strawberries and put them in a ziplock bag so Annie could hand them to Persa (this was what Persa dreamt, and we made it come true). After lunch I worked on the front gate bed and transplanted some irises and day lilies plus dug many holes. That takes us to evening chores. I am excited about what tomorrow brings and new experiences have.

“Mañana”

Yesterday ended very late with dinner ending about 10:15. I decided that it was too late to write, then edit a post. So I decided to take the day off from writing, and push it off until “mañana”. “Mañana” is the word for “tomorrow” in Spanish as well as a saying meaning procrastination , according to Jay. In the morning I started out working on the front gate garden bed. I dug holes for the cannas, a tall tropical looking plant. This took until about 12:30. By then the sun was really too hot for gardening so I suggested to Annie we should make up something for lunch. We all got in for lunch right as a pretty heavy storm hit and caused the house to spring a few leaks. Jay said the roof needs to be replaced since it was built about 16 years ago or it needs some work, whichever comes first. Annie was about half way done mucking out the chicken chalet before she went in for lunch. Earlier during chores we heard one of the hens wheezing, and decided to put her in isolation so then she could hopefully get better. Annie and I checked her heart lungs to see if anything was wrong. I heard wheezing in the lungs but Annie couldn’t hear it. Whether there was wheezing in the lung or not Annie was sure that she was wheezing because of her environment. The chicken house cleaning was on the list of chores and a little past due. Luckily after she was taken out of the environment and given ample food and water, she got better by the end of the day. And lucky for her by the time she was ready to roost in the chicken chalet it all looked brand spanking new. During the rain I took a nap with the beautiful cat named Reenie. Reenie is a special cat because she gives hugs. And when I say hugs, I am being completely serious. She puts a a paw on each side of your neck and stays in that position purring. Unfortunately she decided after 30 minuets that she had enough cuddling time and Carolyn decided to take a cat nap with me. Carolyn is the newest addition to the family and Annie was surprised that she had taken a nap with me. After I woke up I started to weed out the strawberry and onion beds. I found the first ripe strawberry and shared it with Annie. It is amazing how good fresh fruit tastes. It almost seems to be the world’s natural candy. I am so excited for the rest of the strawberries to ripen so we can eat them. By the end of the weeding out one beds of strawberry it was time for nightly chores. Everything went as planned until the end when we feed the two baby goats by hand. Etta May had gotten a blow fly or worbal larvae embedded into her leg. Two days ago Annie thought the entry hole was just a scrape and treated it with bee propolis, but yesterday it was obvious that there was something else happening in the wound. We did a mini-surgery and discovered the larvae – I told Annie “to be confident” about her diagnosis. The larvae didn’t want to come out so we treated it with diatomaceous earth, to kill it, and then this morning we took out the little rascal with tweezer. Next Annie put in some acidophilus to help with the healing and bacteria. We went out the llamas to give them their food, and none seemed to be enthused because we have been switching the feed over to a non-molasses version. Annie says that these llamas have a big sweet tooth, but I guess they will have to learn to get over it so they can be healthier llamas. This day was wonderful and full of surprises with rain and responsibilities of caring for animals. I will tell later about today’s adventures.